Baneswar Sarathibala Mahavidyalaya

History of the College

A meeting was organized on 09.06.2008 at 5 P.M. at Baneswar Khabsa High School for the establishment of a degree college centering and surrounding Baneswar with the vision of spreading higher education in the locality. Sri Nagendra Nath Roy presided over this meeting. A resolution was prepared in presence of 48 ( Forty Eight ) members and organizing committee of the proposed college was formed. The first meeting of this committee was held on 15.06.2008 at Baneswar Khabsa High School. Sri Tarini Kanta Roy presided over this meeting, which was attended by 38 ( Thirty Eight ) members. Dr. Malay Ranjan Sarkar was decided to become the vice-president. Another meeting of the organizing committee was held on 28.06.2008 at 12 noon at Baneswar Khabsa High School subsequently.

This meeting was also presided over by Sri Tarini Kanta Roy. It was decided that the land of Sri Anil Karjee, a resident of Hatiduba, would be accepted as a kind gesture of donation for the establishment of the college, which was named as “Baneswar Sarathibala Mahavidyalaya”. A bank account in this name was opened with the Uttarbanga Kshetriya Gramin Bank. An organizing working committee was formed with 17(seventeen) members. They were :

Sri. Tarini Roy (President), Sri. Ananta Roy (Secretary), Sri. Dwijendra Lal Bhowmik (Working President), Sri. Jibendra Deb Singha (Assistant Secretary), Smt. Pratima Sarkar (Treasurer), Sri. Dipak Sarkar (Vice President), Sri. Harendra Chandra Mitra (Vice President), Smt. Anjana Chakraborty (Member), Sri. Dinesh Chandra Adhikari (Member), Dr. Malay Ranjan Sarkar (Member), Savapati, Cooch Behar 2 no. Panchayet Samiti (Member), Sri. Parimal Roy (Member), Sri. Anil Karjee (Land Donor) (Member), Sri. Binay Dey (Member), Dr. Digbijoy Dey Sarkar (Acting Principal) (Member), Sri. Panchanan Roy (Invited member), Sri. Jhantu Roy (Invited member).

College at a Glance

Our Aims

Scroll to Top